Magic Touch & Her Fig Tree

Wrapping it up for the Winter!

Fig Trees are Hardy to Zone 8, I am in Zone 6.

Having a Fig Tree in my Garden requires protecting it for the colder months.

Below I will share how I do my Fig for the Winter. Some people cut theirs back while others bury them…I chose to wrap mine…here is how I do it

Fig Tree @ Magic Touch & Her Gardens, How to prepare your Fig for Winter

This is my Fig Tree kept in shrub form…

Fig Tree @ Magic Touch & Her Gardens, How to prepare your Fig for Winter

And this is my Fig Tree after heavy frost…Time to wrap it…

Fig Tree @ Magic Touch & Her Gardens, How to prepare your Fig for Winter

Gather your Supplies

You will need:

A Pail (w/handle)

Rope, Cotton or Jute works best

Sheet Plastic, Light in color

Quilt Batting, or lightweight blanket

Scissors

Pruners

Heavy Rocks, or dirt

You may need a Ladder depending on how tall your tree is

Fig Tree @ Magic Touch & Her Gardens, How to prepare your Fig for Winter

I prune all the sticky-outy branches…

And clear the dead wood and leaves.

Fig Tree @ Magic Touch & Her Gardens, How to prepare your Fig for Winter

Being a Quilter I have Quilt Batting by the roll. You can use anything that will take the moisture from the branches… An old lightweight blanket would work…Pull your branches in tight to make wrapping easier. You can secure them with rope before you start wrapping. The tighter it is the less material you will need to finish the job…

Fig Tree @ Magic Touch & Her Gardens, How to prepare your Fig for Winter

Again, the Quilter thing…I first place a plastic bag, from my roll of Batting, over the tree…there is a hole in the top of the bag for ventilation. Attach the rope to the handle of your pail, place the pail upside down over the hole to prevent rain and snow from seeping in over the winter. Wind the rope around the outside to secure the plastic from the wind.

Fig Tree @ Magic Touch & Her Gardens, How to prepare your Fig for Winter

I use a light colored plastic, my Fig is located in a sunny spot. Black can only be used if you Fig is in the shade…Black absorbs the sun and can create an oven like affect, baking your tree…

You need to fan out the bottom of your plastic to prevent critters from making your wrapped Fig their Winter Paradise.

Not only will they have shelter, the bark becomes their food supply for the winter…It happened to mine one year…

Fig Tree @ Magic Touch & Her Gardens, How to prepare your Fig for Winter

I place heavy rocks from my edging at the bottom of mine…You can also use dirt…You want to keep the critters out!

Fig Tree @ Magic Touch & Her Gardens, How to prepare your Fig for Winter

And here you have it…Your Fig will be protected from the harsh Winter if you are colder than a Zone 8!

Fig Tree @ Magic Touch & Her Gardens, How to prepare your Fig for Winter

This post is not complete w/o this image!

This would be my son Michael. He has become my garden helper as of late. While I was bending over in front of him he decided to play with the Camera. He told me he took a picture of my ass…Damn if he didn’t!

For even more information, Read Figs & Their Trees

Here you will find everything you would need to know about Fig Trees and their fruit. From the different varieties to recipes…to overwintering them…

7 thoughts on “Magic Touch & Her Fig Tree

  1. Pingback: Fig Trees | Magic Touch & Her Gardens

    • Not really…I keep most of the supplies right in the bucket…It took my son, Michael and me less than 30 mins to complete… And it also allows us time together…He can be a whole lot of FUN! Besides the fruit is amazing…Not at all like dried figs….

Leave a Reply

